AquAeTer Nuclear Waste Expert Elected to American Nuclear Society Executive Committee

Dr. James H. Clarke, Technical Director of Environmental Forensics for AquAeTer, and professor of the practice of civil and environmental engineering at Vanderbilt University has been elected to the executive committee of the American Nuclear Society’s Decommissioning, Decontamination and Reutilization Division (DD&R). His three-year term began June 30, 2011.

The mission of the DD&R Division is to promote the development and use of technologies associated with the management of nuclear facilities and materials. Dr. Clarke has been a member of the ANS since 2005 and has served on the executive committee of the Environmental Science Division, as well.

Dr. Clarke was a member of the former Nuclear Regulatory Commission Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste and Materials (ACNW&M) where he w the lead committee member on decommissioning, and advised the NRC on issues concerning the Yucca Mountain nuclear waste disposal project. He is a consultant to the NRC Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACNW&M merged into ACRS in 2008) and its subcommittee on radiation protection and nuclear materials, and to the overall nuclear waste regulatory program. He was a member of the National Academy’s Committee on Remediation of Buried and Tank Waste, and is a peer reviewer for the National Academy, the federal Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Energy.